

Electron Owners Association

Annual Committee Meeting 2022

Approved Final Minutes

Date Tue 5th Apr 2022 Time 1300

Venue: Buckland's Beach YC, Auckland

Present

BBYC – Lindsay Graves (chair)

Rarotonga Electron Sailing Club – Peter Heays (temp sec)

Orakei YC - Ian Kohler (vice chair)

Onepoto Electrons – Bunny Nicholson

Sandspit Electrons – Gary Caldwell

Tauranga Electrons – John Rountree (by phone)

Electron builder - Greg Stenbeck

Apologies

Chris Morton- Watchman Island Electrons

Matt Algie - Whitianga Electrons

Brett May – Electron Class Owners Rep

Thomas Koteka -Aitutaki Electrons.

Proxies advised.

Thomas Koteka (Peter Heays)

Matt Algie (committee vote – Lindsay Graves)

Matt Algie (other votes – Greg Stenbeck)

Chris Morton (Greg Stenbeck)

Previous AGM minutes,

Adopted.

Matters arising.

None.

Reports from Clubs and Chair.

Adopted. (None perceived from Watchman Island)

Builder issues

- 1. Approved boat battery power packs are:
- a) traditional battery holder with AA batteries
- b) traditional battery holder with 4 rechargeable batteries
- c) rechargeable 2 pack 6.4v (LIFEP04)

Any other proposed battery packs must be studied and approved as acceptable as in class.

Builder is encouraged to include the 2 pack rechargeable option with boats for sale and promote as the preferred and sensible option.

- 2. Electronics 3D chassis approved with recent minor alterations.
- 3. Vang "v" lock approved and noted that vang chafing at the mast is an ongoing issue to be addressed in due course.

General /Other Business

Orakei YC and RSC requested that more effort goes into the marketing of the class (as per the constitution) and that historical class records be safely stored.

After considerable discussion it was generally agreed that the new committee would focus on these two points, including Improved online identity and EOA communication with owners.

In the spirt of the "one class" design, it is agreed that parts not produced or supplied by the official builder are not "in class" and therefore are unacceptable at major regattas which require (in the NOR and /or SIs)) that all entries be in class.

Upcoming 2022 Events

Onepoto (April 2022) Cancelled

Worlds (Aitutaki) May. Planned to continue despite low entries from NZ.

BBYC 2022 Des Townson Memorial Regatta. (November 12th) Probably at Whitianga.

New committee to revisit the issue of membership of NZRYA (NZ radio yachting assoc.)

Election of officers.

ELECTED:

Chair. Gary Caldwell - Nominated by Ian Kohler, 2nd by John Rountree.

<u>Vice Chair.</u> Lindsay Graves – Nominated by Peter Heays, 2nd by Gary Caldwell .

TBA:

Secretary –to be sought by Chair and Vice Chair.

Other committee members — to be advised by clubs/organisations.

A vote of thanks was made to Lindsay for his past efforts on behalf of the EOA and the class generally.

Meeting closed at 1420.